Student Advancement Funds Endowment (SAFE)


The PEP Foundation is working to establish long term sustainable mechanisms at universities in Pakistan with the goal of making higher education accessible to needy students and enhance their learning experiences.

The objective of the Student Advancement Fund Endowments (SAFEs) is to assist talented students from economically disadvantaged backgrounds to receive undergraduate and graduate degrees at universities. One half of the annual earnings from the principal of the endowment is used to award scholarships to deserving and needy students attending universities in Pakistan. The other half of the investment gains, plus the principal are reinvested to achieve perpetuity of the scholarship program.


PEP Foundation provides the initial seed money to establish SAFEs, with technical assistance for further university fundraising.


The PEP Foundation has created a guide designed to support vice- chancellors and higher education institutions in Pakistan to develop and grow their fundraising efforts. This document draws upon the practical learnings from the PEP Foundation’s SAFE Program implemented in about 50 Universities within the country.

To date the PEP Foundation has established Student Endowment Funds at 50 institutions (in alphabetical order):


Abdul Wali Khan University, Mardan

Bahauddin Zakariya University

Bahria University, Islamabad

Balochistan University of Information Technology, Engineering and Management Sciences, Quetta

Beaconhouse National University, Lahore

COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad

Fatima Jinnah Women University, Rawalpindi

Gomal University, Dera Ismail Khan

Government College University, Lahore

Government College University, Faisalabad

Institute of Management Sciences Peshawar

Institute of Space Technology, Islamabad

International Islamic University, Islamabad

Islamia College University, Peshawar

Islamia University of Bahawalpur, Bahawalpur

Khushal Khan Khattak University Karak, Karak

Khyber Medical University, Peshawar

King Edward Medical University, Lahore

Lahore College for Women University, Lahore

Lasbela University of Agriculture, Water & Marine Sciences, Uthal

Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Jamshoro

Mirpur University of Science and Technology, Mirpur

National Defence University, Islamabad

National University of Science and Technology, Islamabad

NED University of Engineering and Technology, Karachi

Pakistan Institute of Development Economics, Islamabad

Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University, Rawalpindi

Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad

Sardar Bahadur Khan Women University, Quetta

Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur

Shaheed Benazir Bhutto University, Benazirabad

Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Medical University, Larkana

Sindh Agriculture University, Tandojam

The Sukkur Institute of Business Administration, Sukkur

University of Agriculture, Faisalabad

University of Agriculture, Peshawar

University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, Muzaffarabad

University of Education, Lahore

University of Engineering & Technology, Lahore

University of Gujrat, Gujrat

University of Haripur, Haripur

University of Health Sciences, Lahore

University of Malakand , Malakand

University of Peshawar, Peshawar

University of Poonch, Rawalakot

University of Science and Technology, Bannu

University of Sindh, Jamshoro

University of Swat, Swat

University of The Punjab, Lahore

University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Lahore



MOU signing_hands.jpg